Noms Review: Katz’s Delicatessen

Last month, after making Alex take some time off work to go to my company picnic that I eventually decided I didn’t want to go to, we planned a trip to NYC to taste all the delicious tastes we could. There were many a eatery that we wanted to grace with our presence but alas, two days is simply not enough. One blog post isn’t even enough to describe what we ate in one day (without the risk of boring you to tears, of course).

So, in the event you’re in the city and you’re a NYC n00b like I am, I recommend…well, every place we went to, which I’ll cover here one at a time. First up…

Katz’s Delicatessen

I had never heard of it before but apparently it’s pretty famous and pretty touristy but totally worth the trip. Alex had heard from a co-worker that if you throw the guys at Katz’s a few bucks, they’d give you a sample of meat. And it’s true. The pastrami we sampled was out of this world.

We ended up getting more pastrami in one $17 Reuben, but let me tell you, that one sandwich fed 3 people (plus a side of fries and pickles). The pickles alone were amazing, seriously pickled to perfection. And the pastrami just melted in your mouth, it was so tender and deliciously salty. I meant to take a picture of the actual food but we ate it too quickly…here’s our empty plate, though.

Empty Plates at Katz's Delicatessen

If you’ve been to Katz’s Deli, any recommendations for when we go back? Because we definitely will be returning!

Let it be known that as I was about to publish this post, I was just staring at the photo, remembering my good memories, and my mouth started watering. Yum.

