Panko Lime Chicken and Queso Corn

Well, its been a while.  Between the end of the school year and averaging 40 hour weeks in 4.5 days, plus my new grad class, I’ve been a little busy.  Plus it’s been hot, so using the stove is pretty much out of the question.  But on this Friday night, I really wanted to use this new “Fresh Take” kit.  It’s from Kraft and it pretty much is panko bread crumbs on one side and cheese and spices on the other.  You mix them together and Ouila! you have a breading for your chicken/beef/fish.  This case, it was chicken.

Image

Chili Lime Panko Chicken

6 chicken breasts

1 package of Chili Lime Panko Fresh Take from Kraft

Water

Directions

Preheat oven to 350, and spray a cooking sheet.

1. Wet chicken breast under water

2. Put chicken in bag

3. Shake.

4. Take out of bag.

5. Place on cooking sheet

6. Repeat.

Image

The bag also says for better sticking you can use egg.  I of course read this after I coated them all.

While the chicken was cooking, I had seen a pin on pinterest for queso corn, and decided on going with the southwest theme of this meal.  This is the recipe from the website:

Ingredients

4 large ears corn (we used three, because there were three of us)
butter (I didn’t use butter, I felt it didn’t need butter)
sea or kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1/2 cup mayonnaise (I used lite mayo, to make it a little bit healthier)
1 + 1/2 cups Queso Fresco, crumbled or Cotija or Parmesan cheese, grated (alright.  I have no idea what Cotija cheese is, so I used the Mexican blend Cheese)
4 tablespoons fresh cilantro, minced
4 teaspoons chile powder
1 lime, cut into four wedges
I also added Cumin, because who doesn’t love Cumin?

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Brush corn lightly with butter and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast 20-25 minutes. Alternately you can grill or boil it. I boiled it.  Put them on for about 7-8 minutes in boiling water with the cover on.
Image
  1. Working with one ear of corn at time brush with mayonnaise, sprinkle with cheese, cilantro and chile powder, pressing it onto the corn to help it stick. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Serve with lime wedges.

The chicken was great, and the corn was even bettter.  Even though we risked the use of the oven, it was a great meal!!!

Image

