Cake *drool* Batter *drool* Pancakes *drool*

Cake wasn’t cake until Funfetti was introduced. When I first saw this recipe, I’m pretty sure I drooled.  I mean, how could you not? Cake for breakfast? Yes, please. I love Funfetti. I also like Funfetti other things, especially ice cream.  So it wasn’t really a surprise when I decided to make this.  AND SINCE they are “cake batter” I decided to make them on the Birthday weekend of Thu.  I know, I’m such a great roommate.

So we woke up at a reasonable time on a Sunday morning on a Birthday Weekend.  We were in fantastic shape.  

And so it began.  However, upon looking at the site, it seems the author of the recipe neglected the space bar.  And enter bar for that matter. So it looked like this:

CAKE BATTER PANCAKESFound recipe onmakes about 12 pancakes1 1/2 cups all purpose flour2/3 cup yellow cake mix…..

But I’m going to be nicer, because maybe you too would like to make pancakes in a groggy state on a Sunday morning and not have to use your eyes/brain too much. Just maybe.

*CAKE BATTER PANCAKES*
makes about 12 pancakes

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour (on the other site, I read this as 1/2.  Notices when my mixture looked really watery, not like pancakes)
2/3 cup yellow cake mix (I used white cake mix.  Is there really a difference?)
1 tablespoon sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
2 eggs (we actually had two eggs.  crazy, I know.)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (may have put too much in.  still tasted alright.)
1-2 cups milk (Why can’t I get a number?  how about 1 1/2?  Why between 1 and 2?  I put in about 1 2/3 cup of milk.  If that helps.)
assorted sprinkles (We had American themed sprinkles.  Red, White and Blue! USA!USA!)

Combine flour, cake mix, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl and mix. Add 1 cup of milk, egg and vanilla extract and stir until smooth. You want the batter to look like regular pancake batter; not too thin, not too thick. Start with 1 cup of milk and add more if needed. I suggest a small taste test as well to see if the pancakes are flavored enough.

Preheat a skillet on medium heat. Fold sprinkles into batter. Pour batter in 1/4 cup measurements onto skillet and let cook until bubbles form on top, about 2-3 minutes. Flip and cook for 1 minute more. 

There’s also an optional glaze, that we turned down.  However, here is the recipe:

1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tablespoon milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
assorted sprinkles

Mix milk, extract and powdered sugar until glaze forms. You may need to add a little more sugar or water/milk to reach desired consistency. Mix into glaze and drizzle on pancakes.

On a taste level, I give these a 7 out of 10.  It probably would have been higher if I didn’t put too much vanilla extract in it.  However, these are not your regular pancakes.  Thu and I put one away each and were full.  One and done.  They are filling.  Unless your Alex, and put away four in one sitting.  

Some possible toppings/toppings we used:

  • Strawberries/Blueberries
  • Whipped cream
  • powdered sugar
  • maple syrup
  • Nutella

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

