Not so skinny Roasted Potatoes, Sausage, and Peppers

If you’ve been dragging as hard as I have lately, you’ll love this recipe. Prep time is maybe 15 minutes and cook time is about 35 minutes. Just do it. It’s so easy and you don’t even have to follow the whole recipe (the beauty of cooking)–just throw in whatever you like/have, really. I know, it’s totally our kind of dinner.

After a futile attempt at waking Alex up before I got home with a text asking him to take out chicken to thaw, I sat perusing Pinterest and found something that did not involve chicken at all: Roasted Potatoes, Chicken Sausage and Peppers from SkinnyTaste.com

To be honest, the pics really did it for me and sealed the deal. And we had most of the 3 or so ingredients, or something comparable. So here’s what I ended up using:

  • 4 red potatoes
  • 1 red pepper
  • 5 hot Italian sausages

And some random amounts of extra virgin olive oil, minced garlic, oregano, basil, salt, fresh ground pepper, and a dash (yes, a dash!) of ground cayenne pepper all mixed together.

After quickly dicing the potatoes and peppers into small, eatable cubes, I (heavily) brushed them with the olive oil and herb mixture and put them in the oven for about 10 minutes @ 350 degrees (F). While that was roasting away, I spent some quality time with the sausages and microwave, trying to defrost those bad boys.

I sliced those up good and well and threw them in with the potatoes and peppers once the 10 minutes were up. Then, I set the timer for another 25 minutes and watched The Patriot (RIP Heath Ledger…my heart still hurts for you, you Australian beast, you) with Erinne and Alex.

And bazinga! An awesome, easy dinner:

Roasted Potatoes, Sausage, and Peppers

