Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili

So here we are again.  A rainy day means we want something warm. A rainy day also means no soccer.  I didn’t know what to do with myself.  My Saturday usually starts with me waking up, driving somewhere, coaching 9 year olds, then ending my soccer day around 6 after reffing 14 year olds.  So needless to say, this particular Saturday I was lost with nothing to do. So I wanted to cook.  And since it was Thu’s B-day, I let her decide what I was making.  She chose the Taco Chili.  I ventured out to the store in a downpour, and got all the ingredients:

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 16-oz can black beans
  • 1 16-oz can kidney beans
  • 1 8-oz can tomato sauce (I had a ginormous can of sauce, so I guessed on what 8 oz was.)
  • 10 oz package frozen corn kernels
  • 2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes w/chilies
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 24 oz (3-4) boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • chili peppers, chopped (optional) (Listen.  the fact that the tomatoes already had chilies in it AND chili powder was put in it was brave of me.  More chili peppers? please.)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • Green peppers.  Because who doesn’t love green peppers?

Directions: (Timeline)

2:00 ish: put all the ingredients except cilantro, green peppers and chicken in to crock pot. Stir together.

2:15 ish: chicken in on top.  I kind of pushed it down a little

2:17: Watched  the end of the movie Serenity with Thu.

2:30: Cleaned bathoom.  It’s squeaky clean now.

3:00: Pirates of The Caribbean at World’s End. It’s times like these where I remember how good looking Orlando Bloom is.

6:00: Shredded the Chicken. I did it with a fork.  put it back in.  Added the cilantro and cut up green peppers.

6:15: started to cook the rice.  One of the sites said to put the chili on top of rice.

6:20: Started to cook the corn muffins.  I figured cornbread would be a nice addition to the chili.

6:30: Should probably clean up some of the mess I’ve made.

7:00: Oh Beauty and the Beast? Perfect.

7:26: Winson’s here. Fashionably early.

7:30: Thu’s home.

7:34: Eat.

Or, if you prefer, the actual directions:

Combine beans, onion, chili peppers, corn, tomato sauce, cumin, chili powder and taco seasoning in a slow cooker. Place chicken on top and cover. Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours. Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in. Top with fresh cilantro. Also try it with low fat cheese and sour cream.

So this meal is 10 servings.  After inviting a couple of people over AND eating some when we got home after going out, with still have a huge bowl of it.  But delicious, and with all the beans, pretty hearty.  Until you add the corn muffins and rice.  The original recipe is from Skinny Taste , so if you’re into all that Weight Watchers stuff, there’s your points. 

