Baked Chicken Parmesan

Chicken Parm (or if you are from the Boston area Chicken Pahhhm) is probably one of my favorite dishes ever.  I love breaded chicken, I love spaghetti sauce, and the cheese is pretty fantastic.  So I found this recipe on Skinny Taste  website and decided it was a go.  I try to be as health conscious as possible, so the idea of baking rather than frying seemed promising.  So here it is:

Baked Chicken Parmesan

  • 4 (8 oz) chicken breast halves, sliced in half I used chicken thighs because that’s what we had.  I suggest  that the chicken breasts would work better because they are thinner.
  • 3/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs (I used 4C whole wheat) I think we had Italian Style Bread Crumbs
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup reduced fat mozzarella cheese (I used Sargento)
  • 1 cup marinara or Filetto di Pomodoro (I have no idea what this filetto di pomodoro is, so I used some prego pasta sauce. 
  • cooking spray

Preheat oven to 450°. Spray a large baking sheet lightly with spray.

Combine breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese in a bowl. Melt the butter in another bowl. Lightly brush the butter onto the chicken, then dip into breadcrumb mixture. Place on baking sheet and repeat with the remaining chicken.

Lightly spray a little more cooking oil on top and bake in the oven for 20 minutes.Turn chicken over, bake another 5 minutes. Remove from oven, spoon sauce over chicken and top with shredded cheese. Bake 5 more minutes or until cheese is melted. As I’m reading over this paragraph, I’m realizing that I didn’t follow the directions very well.  .  

Not only did I not spray cooking oil again, I think I left the sauce to the last five minutes.  Either way, it turned out good.  I also put the cheese on at the end and then put the broiler on in order to darken my cheese, because I like my cheese borderline burnt.  

My thoughts on this recipe:

Delicious.  Even though I had a little tough time making them look pretty, these were delicious.  They are just as good if not better than the fried version.  The Chicken was able to stay nice and juicy.

This food is the epitome that looks aren’t everything.  Note to Self: Extra Non-stick spray is a must.

