Brown (Sugar) Butter Ravioli with Chicken, Walnuts, and Sage

After seeing this on a friend’s blog, I was fantasizing about a buttery, sugary sauce over cheese ravioli all day. I was so enticed by the thought of eating this meal that I even went to Trader Joe’s after work to pick up some special raviolis, but also because that’s not something we buy and stock on the reg.

So there I was, at TJ’s scoping out some ravioli packages and I saw the most amazing food product I’ve ever laid eyes on: Carbonara Cheese Ravioli, Flavored with Bacon. Without even really knowing what carbonara is or considering the implications of mixing a sugary sauce with bacon and what I thought to be the egg taste of carbonara, I bought 3 packages of these bad boys. Guys, c’mon. It said they were flavored with bacon. C’moooonnnn.

Rotisserie Chicken

I get home and get down to business, only to realize that the recipe I’ve been drooling over all day did not actually say “Brown Sugar”, but “Brown Butter.” Wishful thinking at it’s finest, really. The worst part about it was that I had just told Erinne that I was actually going to follow the recipe this time. Welp, there was that. I’m sorry, but when I see walnuts in a recipe, I automatically assume it’s gonna be sweet, yeah? Just me..?

Here’s the original recipe for Brown Butter with Rotisserie Chicken, Toasted Walnuts, and Crispy Sage:

  • 1 lb chicken breast
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 9 oz fresh mini ravioli
  • 2 oz (1/2 cup) walnuts
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/3 cup fresh sage leaves
  • brown sugar*

Besides adding brown sugar to the butter sauce, I’d say I did pretty well in terms of following the directions. I actually rotisserie’d the chicken and it came out great! My only gripe about this recipe (my ad-libbing) is that maybe it was too flavorful, what with the bacon-flavored ravioli (no regrets, man), the brown butter sauce, and the sage-rubbed chicken…it was a lot for my taste buds.

But look how pretty!

Toasted Walnuts

Ravioli with walnutsBrown Sugar Butter Ravioli with Chicken

