Balsamic Chicken

For anyone who knows me, knows I have a tiny (read: huge) obsession with Italian food.  One of my favorite restaurants to go to is Bertucci’s.  They make their food fresh and add lots of spices and herbs to bring the flavor to another.  And they have fantastic sangria.  Anyone outside of the Northeast is really missing out.  Especially if all you have is Olive Garden, where the Chicken Parmesan borders that of the Chicken Parmesan I had at the Dining Hall in college.

ANYWAYS my favorite dish they have at Bertucci’s would have to be the Balsamic Chicken.  Its chicken, that’s grilled, with balsamic drizzle on top, red garlic mash potatoes as a side, with buttery-garlicky green beans.  Top that off with the peach sangria, and I’m pretty much in heaven.  For a couple of years I have been trying to recreate this dish, my main problem being how to make the glaze.  Finally, after years of looking, I came across the Spark Recipe one day last spring and decided I needed to make this dish.  (by the way if you click on the link above, the picture does not match the outcome.  I have no idea what that is a picture of.) So one night I decided this was the meal I was going to make, including the potatoes and green beans.  So you get THREE recipes in this one post.

The Chicken

1 1/2 tsp of dried thyme
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 tsp olive oil
1lb chicken breast
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp honey

The Red Mash Potatoes

4 or 5 red potatoes, washed

2 Tbsp Garlic (I use the canned garlic)

3 Tbsp Butter

¼-1/2 cup of milk (I used skim)

Salt and pepper to taste.

The Green Beans

One (1) Bag of Side Kits Green Beans See what they did there? They’re so funny.  I found these at the supermarket in the produce section and decided to try them out.  This was a good idea.  So easy to add veggies to a meal!

Directions:

  • Heat Large Saucepan on High for the Potatoes.
  • Slice potatoes into quarters or eighths.
  • Combine first 3 ingredients; sprinkle over both sides of chicken.
  • When water starts to boil, place potatoes into large saucepan along with the garlic.  Cook until tender (pierce with a fork)
  • Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 7 to 8 minutes on each side or until chicken is done. I like that this recipe tells you how long that each side should go.  I usually don’t know, so this always helps me understand the approximate time.
  • Drain Potatoes then start to mash.  Add the milk and the butter until smooth.
  • Here’s where the green beans come in.  Open bag, take out buttery-garlic mix.  Pierce the bag with a fork.  Put green beans into microwave for as long as the bag says to.
  • Transfer chicken to a platter; keep warm. Reduce heat to medium-low; add vinegar and honey to pan. Simmer 1 minute or until glaze thickens; stir constantly. Pour glaze over chicken.
  • Your green beans should be done now.  Take them out, and let them sit until they cool down a little.  Then add mixture and shake.  Take out of bag and add Parmesan to go on top.  And Done.
  • Yield: 4 servings (serving size: 1 chicken breast half).
  • Number of Servings: 4

I’m not going to lie to you.  As much as the first two times I made this I followed the directions word by word.  After a while,  I don’t measure anything out.  I mix a bunch of salt, pepper and thyme together, put it on the chicken.  I then put a bunch of olive oil in the pan, and then put chicken in.   With the glaze, I mix the honey and the balsamic vinegar until I decide it has the taste and consistency I want.  It’s one of the easiest dishes to make, and the most delicious.

