Keen-Wah Pizza Bites

Prior to tonight, I had never eaten quinoa. And even just five minutes ago, I wasn’t exactly sure what it was–not that that’s ever stopped me from eating something. But from what I gleamed from the Trader Joe’s Organic Quinoa box that Erinne bought, my impression was, “It’s kind of like couscous. <insert shrug>”

But it’s not. Couscous isn’t even what I thought it was. Advanced thanks to Wikipedia:

“Quinoa (ki-nwa)…is a grain-like crop grown primarily for its edible seeds. It is a pseudocereal rather than a true cereal, or grain, as it is not a member of the grass family. As a chenopod, quinoa is closely related to species such as beets, spinach, and tumbleweeds.”

Related to tumbleweeds? Tumbleweeds are an actual thing, too? Ugh. At any rate, now we’re all on the same page. We know what quinoa really is and how to pronounce it properly (I have to really try not to say “quin-no-ah”).

So, of course since Erinne bought the quinoa, we were on the lookout for some good ol’ recipes on Pinterest. I found and pinned Quinoa Pizza Bites and it was a done deal. What’s not to like? Bite-sized, cute. Pizza-flavored, delicious. It’s also worth mentioning that since I was so motivated to make these, I did actually go to the grocery store to stock up on the necessary supplies, a.k.a. we really just needed eggs.

    Hormel Pepperoni Minis

  • 2 1 cups cooked quinoa
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1 cup chopped pepperoni slices
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried crushed oregano
  • pizza sauce for dipping

First lesson learned while preparing dinner: buying mini pepperoni is a major win on all accounts. Just look at how adorable they are and they required no chopping. I know, genius.

Second lesson learned while preparing dinner: 2 cups of cooked quinoa is definitely not the same as 2 cups of (dried) quinoa. I’ll chalk this one up to being a total newb at quinoa, but c’mon, what recipe calls for a certain amount of cooked pasta/food that expands? The measuring normally happens before the cooking in my house. Needless to say, I’ll be looking at more quinoa recipes tomorrow to use up the leftovers. Womp womp.

Too Much Quinoa Mixture for Quinoa Pizza Bites

Baking Quinoa Pizza Bites

Baked Quinoa Pizza Bites

Remnants of Quinoa Bites

At the end of the day, they came out pretty delicious considering I didn’t actually measure out any of the other ingredients. If you’re following this recipe, I’d definitely recommend keeping them baking for 20 minutes or longer. If they’re not baked enough they’ll break apart and you’ll end up with this to clean up after. Also, make sure to grease your muffin tins.

