Cinnamon Toasted Almonds

So I found myself alone at home, tired and hungry.  In the words of my college roommates, I really just wanted to feel some tastes.  So I decided  to pull out the almonds we had in our cupboard (they were hiding for a while) and take this project head on. Apparently, I had decided to pin this numerous times, all different recipes. So I went with the first one I found on tasteofhome.com.  As usual, it comes down to the ingredients in the house.

Cinnamon Toasted Almonds

Ingredients
  • 2 1 egg whites. Apparently, we only had one egg.  This is a trend for our household, because we love eggs.  So I made do with a single egg. 

 such a lonely egg.

  • And egg whites?  That week we learned about eggs in cooking class Junior Year, I was busy getting my appendix out. So quickly I googled how to separate an egg. 
  • 6 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups unblanched almonds What’s an “unblanched almond?” I didn’t care enough to find out.  My Trader Joe’s Raw Almonds would have to suffice.  did a little quick math with fractions (yay sixth grade math!) and realized my bag was 4 cups of almonds.

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon alright.  So I happened to have a mixture of cinnamon sugar from when I made snicker doodles a couple of months ago. I figured I would need it one day, and that day is now.  Apparently, 1/3 cup of this mixture.  I used this instead. 
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar I use the word “packed” very loosely.  Get it?  I’m so funny.
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

  • In a large bowl, beat egg whites until frothy; beat in vanilla. Add almonds; stir gently to coat. Combine the sugars, salt and cinnamon; add to nut mixture and stir gently to coat.
  • Spread evenly into two greased 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pans. In order to conserve dishes, I used one large cookie pan and piled them all on.  I also used Aluminum foil to conserve dish washing. 

  • The directions say 300 for 25-30 minutes, but I baked it at 350 for 30 minutes.  I figured since mine were closer together, then more time/temp might be needed. About halfway through, I mixed it up so both sides could be evenly done.

Sitting through the 25-30 minutes of vanilla/cinnamon aromatherapy was brutal, but in the end they were delicious and reminded me of Six Flags.  I will now use these for snacks this week.

